This town's unusual name comes from its status as the meeting point of Bald Eagle Creek and the West Branch of the Susquehanna at the Bald Eagle Cross-Cut Canal, which was part of the Pennsylvania Canal. Lock Haven was established in 1833 and named to commemorate the canal lock and the river's safe haven. Canal Park, in the town's historic district, is maintained as a monument to the state's canal era. Visitors can learn more at the Heisey Museum. For a more modern celebration of transportation, visitors can check out the Piper Fly-In at the William T. Piper Memorial Airport. Camping and B&Bs provide ample lodging.